Blackhawks season ends with first Stanley Cup in 49 years

Blackhawks season ends with first Stanley Cup in 49 years


49 years in the making, the Chicago Blackhawks concluded their epic Stanley Cup run with a destiny fulfilled. Blackhawks season end as many experts expected with a NHL championship. Chicago needed overtime and a shot from Patrick Kane to claim the Cup. The shot did not immediately set the crowd or Kane’s teammates into an elated frenzy, because red light did not indicate the goal was good. Upon official review, the Blackhawks with certainty could finally celebrate a 4-3 overtime victory and their first Stanley Cup Championship in over four decades.

Patrick Kane scored the winning goal, and Jonathan Toews wins the Conn Smythe award that is awarded for playoff MVP. The franchise players for the Blackhawks proved their worth as they finally showed up in the playoffs just at right moment. Congratulations, Philadelphia Flyers for playing a hard fought game, but they failed a goal shy of sending the series to a much needed Game 7.

It was more than a two man tandem that made the Blackhawks NHL Champions and in Game 6 teammates such as Dustin Byfuglien, Patrick Sharp, and Andrew Ladd added the goals that put the team in the lead 3-2. It was not until Philadelphia Flyers Scott Hartnell scored in the third period to send the hockey game into overtime. With the help of his teammates’ goal scoring, Kane was put into position to find the goal with one 49 year old destiny fulfilling shot. A grand congratulation goes out to Chicago Blackhawks for winning the Stanley Cup in 2010.